Facebook status gripe

An article I read this morning got me thinking and I just love it when I get the opportunity to churn out the build up of irritation on certain matters under the guise of ‘opinion’.  So here goes…

Allfacebook.com had an article about the “7 Stupidest mistakes we keep seeing on Facebook”.

Their list is however way too short!

I’d like to include the 7 stupidest types of updates we keep seeing on Facebook to that list.

1.       Over sharing – it’s just not cricket!

Telling everyone on your status that you have had the runs for three days straight and that it is coming out on both ends is just disturbing! Same thing applies to explicitly sharing who you did what with the night before. We do not want to know about your bowel movements or sexual activities. Keep it to yourself!

2.       Washing your dirty laundry for all to see

So you had a fight with your partner.  We all have fights with our other halves from time to time. But seriously, it is none of our business and we don’t need to know every sordid little detail of what a scumbag/bitch/choose your own adjective here, your partner seems to be. This is not kindergarten. We do not want to know the “he said, she said”. If I want drama, I will follow one of the soap operas on television.

3.       I have a secret nah nah nah nah nah!

Acting as if you have this great big secret that you just might share with the world if we are lucky, completely rubs me up the wrong way. For example, “I can’t believe that just happened”. Of course, the person responsible for the post sits in anticipation for someone to ask, “Gee Bob, what happened?” Blegh! It’s so annoying!

4.       Hypochondriacs are us

These are the attention seekers of the world. They are always struggling with some or other ailment and the ailment is the only thing that they will ever posts updates about. They are never just happy and they never have anything other to say other than how miserable they are feeling, how bad this or that ache is etc, etc… I know it is not nice being sick, having back ache or any other ailment, but reminding us constantly about how bad you are suffering is just exasperating

5.       I am so excited!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

There seems to be a lot of people on Facebook that suffers from over excitement. It’s either that or they clearly do not know how to use exclamation marks properly.

I think it is ridiculous!!!!!!!!!

Now look at what they’ve made me do! I got all excited for no apparent reason. Silly sods.

6.       Facebook, do you read me?

Some Facebook users tend to spam others’ news feeds by doing one update after another in a very short span of time. I once saw a guy doing 13 updates in less than 10 minutes about absolute rubbish. Needless to say, I promptly removed him from my friends list.

7.       Copy paste if you feel the same

“If your mom/dad/wife/husband/child is the best mom/dad/wife/husband/child ever, copy and paste this as your update”. I do not mean to be insensitive, but what do these updates actually achieve? It also seems to be the same people who copy and paste every possible status out there. Here’s a thought… post something original!

I’d like to add one… If you enjoy copying and pasting updates, copy and paste this update as your update. Keep it there for at least an hour and then copy and update this update again.

How do you like them apples?

That concludes my rant for the day. Facebook friends, beware, I will be watching your updates very closely!

This entry was posted in Digital, General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Facebook status gripe

  1. theonlycin says:

    In my own defence ref #4 … I was really, really sick …

  2. Hah! Am so glad I stumbled onto you here, seeing as I’m not on the other side anymore…
    Oh, it might help to tell you it’s Say What 🙂

  3. Simon says:

    Oh my sweet fuck the last one drives me INSANE. The rest annoy me but the “Repost if…” is easily the most heinous.

Leave a Reply

